The Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs held a business meeting at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, June 25, 2008, in SD-342.

1. <u>Nomination of Elaine C. Duke to be Under Secretary for Management, U.S.</u> <u>Department of Homeland Security</u>

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote. (Recording Yea for Senator Voinovich.)

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, Collins, Stevens, Coleman, Coburn, and Warner.

2. <u>S. 2583, Improper Payments Elimination and Recovery Act of 2008</u>

<u>Results</u>: Withdrawn by Senator Carper.

A. Carper-McCaskill Substitute Amendment to S. 2583

<u>Results</u>: Not offered.

1. <u>Collins Second-Degree Amendment #1 to Carper-McCaskill</u> Substitute Amendment to S. 2583

<u>Results</u>: Not offered.

2. <u>Coburn Second-Degree Amendment #1 to Carper-McCaskill</u> <u>Substitute Amendment to S. 2583</u>

Results: Not offered.

3. <u>Coburn Second-Degree Amendment #2 to Carper-McCaskill</u> <u>Substitute Amendment to S. 2583</u>

<u>Results</u>: Not offered.

4. <u>Coburn Second-Degree Amendment #3 to Carper-McCaskill</u> Substitute Amendment to S. 2583

Results: Not offered.

B. Coburn Substitute Amendment to S. 2583

<u>Results</u>: Not offered.

3. <u>S. 1924, Federal Firefighters Fairness Act of 2007</u>

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote as amended by the Carper-Warner Substitute Amendment. (Recording Nay for Senator Coburn.)

Senators present: Lieberman, Levin, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, Coburn, Warner, and Sununu.

A. Carper-Warner Substitute Amendment to S. 1924

<u>Results</u>: Adopted by voice vote. (Recording Nay for Senator Coburn.)

Senators present: Lieberman, Levin, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, Coburn, Warner, and Sununu.

4. H.R. 5683, Government Accountability Office Act of 2008

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote as amended by Lieberman Amendment #2 and Voinovich Amendment #1.

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

A. Lieberman Amendment #1 to H.R. 5683

Results: Not offered.

B. Lieberman Amendment #2 to H.R. 5683

<u>Results</u>: Adopted by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Pryor, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, Coburn, Warner, and Sununu.

C. Voinovich Amendment #1 to H.R. 5683

<u>Results</u>: Adopted by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

5. <u>S. 3013, Non-Foreign Area Retirement Equity Assurance Act of 2008</u>

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote as amended by the Akaka-Stevens Managers' Amendment, Carper Amendment #1, and the Akaka Second-Degree Amendment to Carper Amendment #1.

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee Record June 25, 2008

A. Akaka-Stevens Managers' Amendment to S. 3013

<u>Results</u>: Adopted by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

B. Carper Amendment #1 to S. 3013

<u>Results</u>: Adopted by voice vote as amended by the Akaka Second-Degree Amendment.

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

1. <u>Akaka Second-Degree Amendment to Carper Amendment #1 to S.</u> <u>3013</u>

Results: Adopted by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

6. <u>S. 3175, Predisaster Hazard Mitigation Act of 2008</u>

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote as amended by Pryor Amendment #1 and Pryor Amendment #2. (Recording Nay for Senator Coburn.)

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Collins, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

A. Pryor Amendment #1 to S. 3175

Results: Adopted by voice vote. (Recording Nay for Senator Coburn.)

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Collins, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

B. **Pryor Amendment #2 to S. 3175**

Results: Adopted by voice vote. (Recording Nay for Senator Coburn.)

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

7. S. 2382, FEMA Accountability Act of 2007

Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee Record June 25, 2008

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably en bloc by voice vote as amended by the Pryor Substitute Amendment.

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Collins, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

A. **Pryor Substitute Amendment to S. 2382**

Results: Adopted en bloc by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Collins, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

B. Landrieu Amendment #1 to S. 2382

<u>Results</u>: Withdrawn.

8. S. 2148, Senior Executive Service Diversity Assurance Act

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably en bloc by voice vote as amended by the Akaka Substitute Amendment. (Recording Nay for Senator Coburn.)

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Collins, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

A. Akaka Substitute Amendment to S. 2148

<u>Results</u>: Adopted en bloc by voice vote. (Recording Nay for Senator Coburn.)

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Collins, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

9. <u>S. 2816, to provide for the appointment of the Chief Human Capital Officer of the</u> Department of Homeland Security by the Secretary of Homeland Security

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably en bloc by voice vote without amendment.

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Collins, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

10. Post Office Naming Bills

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably en bloc by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Akaka, Carper, Pryor, McCaskill, Collins, Coleman, Coburn, and Sununu.

Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee Record June 25, 2008

- A. S. 3015, to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 18
 S. G Street, Lakeview, Oregon, as the "Dr. Bernard Daly Post Office Building;"
- B. H.R. 5479, to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 117 North Kidd Street in Ionia, Michigan, as the "Alonzo Woodruff Post Office Building;"
- C. H.R. 4185, to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 11151 Valley Boulevard in El Monte, California, as the "Marisol Heredia Post Office Building;"
- D. H.R. 5528, to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 120 Commercial Street in Brockton, Massachusetts, as the "Rocky Marciano Post Office Building;"
- E. H.R. 3721, to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 1190 Lorena Road in Lorena, Texas, as the "Marine Gunnery Sgt. John D. Fry Post Office Building;"
- F. H.R. 5517, to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 7231 FM 1960 in Humble, Texas, as the "Texas Military Veterans Post Office;"
- G. H.R. 5168, to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 19101 Cortez Boulevard in Brooksville, Florida, as the "Cody Grater Post Office Building;"
- H. S. 3082, to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 1700 Cleveland Avenue in Kansas City, Missouri, as the "Reverend Earl Abel Post Office Building;"
- I. H.R. 5395/S. 2622, to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 11001 Dunklin Road in St. Louis, Missouri, as the "William 'Bill' Clay Post Office."