REFERENCE TITLE: membership; criminal justice commission.

State of Arizona House of Representatives Forty-eighth Legislature First Regular Session 2007

HB 2164

Introduced by Representatives Miranda: Alvarez

AN ACT

AMENDING SECTION 41-2404, ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES; RELATING TO THE ARIZONA CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION.

(TEXT OF BILL BEGINS ON NEXT PAGE)

1 Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Arizona: 2 Section 1. Section 41-2404, Arizona Revised Statutes, is amended to 3 read: 41-2404. Arizona criminal justice commission: members: 4 5 compensation: terms: meetings 6 Α. The Arizona criminal justice commission is established consisting 7 of the following members: 8 1. The attorney general or the attorney general's designee. 9 2. The director of the department of public safety or the director's 10 designee. 11 3. The director of the state department of corrections or the 12 director's designee. 13 4. Fourteen FIFTEEN members who are appointed by the governor or 14 their designees. No more than seven EIGHT of these members may be from the 15 same political party. 16 5. The administrative director of the courts or the director's 17 designee. 18 6. The chairman of the board of executive clemency or the chairman's 19 designee. 20 The members who are appointed pursuant to subsection A, paragraph 4 Β. 21 shall include at least one police chief, one county attorney and one county 22 sheriff from a county with a population of one million two hundred thousand 23 or more persons, one police chief, one county attorney and one county sheriff 24 from a county with a population equal to or greater than four hundred 25 thousand persons but fewer than one million two hundred thousand persons and 26 one police chief, one county attorney and one county sheriff from counties 27 with a population of fewer than four hundred thousand persons. The remaining 28 members shall include ONE REPRESENTATIVE OF A VICTIMS' RIGHTS ADVOCACY 29 ORGANIZATION, one law enforcement leader, one former judge, one mayor, one 30 member of a county board of supervisors and one chief probation officer. 31 C. Members who are appointed pursuant to subsection A, paragraph 4 32 shall serve for terms of two years terminating on the convening of the first 33 regular session of the legislature. Any appointive member who ceases to be a 34 member of the body the member represents on the commission is deemed to have 35 resigned. Appointments to fill a vacancy shall be made in the same manner as 36 the original appointment. 37 D. The commission shall meet and organize by electing from among its 38 membership such officers as are deemed necessary or advisable. The 39 commission shall meet at least once during each calendar quarter and 40 additionally as the chairman deems necessary, and a majority of the members 41 constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business. 42 E. Members of the commission are not eligible to receive compensation 43 but are eligible for reimbursement of expenses pursuant to title 38, chapter 44 4, article 2.