Agreement on the Status of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation, National Representatives and International Staff

Done: Ottawa; September 20, 1951

Entry into force: May 18, 1954

In accordance with Article 26, the Agreement shall be open for signature by Member States of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization and shall be subject to ratification. Instruments of ratification shall be deposited with the Government of the United States of America. The Agreement entered into force for signatory States ratifying the Agreement as soon as six signatory States deposited their instruments of ratification. The Agreement comes into force in respect of each other signatory State on the date of the deposit of its

instrument of ratification.

Notes:

An Extract from the Summary Record of a meeting of the North Atlantic Council Deputies, signed on December 12, 1951, notes discrepancies between the English and French texts of Articles 14 and 16 of the Agreement. The Extract records the agreement by the Council Deputies on behalf of their Governments that the English text of Articles 14 and 16 is correct and that the French text should be corrected to conform with the English text. The Extract reproduces those articles in the French text of the Agreement with the agreed corrections.

An Agreed Minute was signed by the North Atlantic Council Deputies on April 4, 1952 to transfer the functions of the Chairman of the Council Deputies under this Agreement to the Secretary-General of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (or the Secretary-General's deputy or any such other person as the North Atlantic Council may decide) in consequence of the NATO reorganization which abolished the office of Chairman of the Council Deputies.

Legend: (no mark) = ratification; \mathbf{w} = withdrawal or equivalent action

Participant	Signature	Consent to be bound	Other Action	Notes
Belgium	September 20, 1951	February 18, 1955		1
Bulgaria	July 12, 2004	October 22, 2004		
Canada	September 20, 1951	September 1, 1954		
Czech Republic	April 26, 1999	November 18, 1999		
Denmark	September 20, 1951	May 7, 1952		
Estonia	September 7, 2004	November 26, 2004		
France	September 20, 1951	January 20, 1955		
Germany	May 29, 1956	July 25, 1958		
Greece	May 6, 1955	December 10, 1956		
Hungary	January 21, 2000	May 15, 2000		
Iceland	September 20, 1951	May 11, 1953		
Italy	September 20, 1951	March 9, 1955		
Latvia	August 10, 2004	February 17, 2005		
Lithuania	September 8, 2004	January 3, 2005		

Luxembourg	September 20, 1951	July 23, 1954	2	
Netherlands	September 20, 1951	July 14, 1952	3	
Norway	September 20, 1951	February 24, 1953		
Poland	September 21, 1999	September 21, 1999		
Portugal	September 20, 1951	November 22, 1955	4	
Romania	June 30, 2004	January 5, 2005		
Slovak Republic	August 13, 2004	December 16, 2004		
Slovenia	June 14, 2004	September 28, 2004		
Spain	March 4, 1987	August 10, 1987		
Turkey	October 2, 1953	May 18, 1954	5	
United Kingdom	September 20, 1951	December 10, 1954	6	
United States	September 20, 1951	July 24, 1953	7	

¹ At the time of signature of the Agreement, Belgium signed, with Luxembourg and the Netherlands, a document which reads as follows:

The instrument of ratification of the Agreement by Belgium includes the foregoing declaration.

The instrument of ratification of the Agreement by Belgium was accompanied by the following statement, an English translation of which reads as follows:

"In depositing the instruments of ratification by Belgium regarding the Status of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, National Representatives and International Staff and the declaration of the Belgian, Luxembourg and Netherland Governments, signed at Ottawa, September 20, 1951, I have the honor to formulate the following reservation:

"With respect to the fiscal status of the employees of the Organization, as defined in Article 19 of the Agreement, Belgium reserves the right at a later date to request its revision, with a view to providing for the taxation, by the Organization itself and to its profit, of the salaries and fees that it pays its employees, as well as for adequate measures to prevent the double taxation of the said salaries and fees."

"On signing the Agreement of today's date regarding the Status of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation, National Representatives and International Staff, the Plenipotentiaries of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands, make the following Declaration:

"The nationals of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands may not avail themselves of the provisions of the present Agreement to claim in the territory of one of these aforementioned Powers any exemption which they do not enjoy in their own territory with respect to duties, taxes and other dues which have been or will be standardised by virtue of conventions which have been or will be concluded for the purposes of bringing about the Economic Union of Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands."

The instrument of ratification of the Agreement by Luxembourg includes the foregoing declaration.

[&]quot;On signing the Agreement of today's date regarding the Status of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation, National Representatives and International Staff, the Plenipotentiaries of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands, make the following Declaration:

[&]quot;The nationals of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands may not avail themselves of the provisions of the present Agreement to claim in the territory of one of these aforementioned Powers any exemption which they do not enjoy in their own territory with respect to duties, taxes and other dues which have been or will be standardised by virtue of conventions which have been or will be concluded for the purposes of bringing about the Economic Union of Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands."

² At the time of signature of the Agreement, Luxembourg signed, with Belgium and the Netherlands, a document which reads as follows:

³ At the time of signature of the Agreement, the Netherlands signed, with Belgium and Luxembourg, a document which reads as follows:

[&]quot;On signing the Agreement of today's date regarding the Status of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation, National Representatives and International Staff, the Plenipotentiaries of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands, make the following Declaration:

[&]quot;The nationals of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands may not avail themselves of the provisions of the present Agreement to claim in the territory of one of these aforementioned Powers any exemption which they do not enjoy in their own territory with respect to duties, taxes and

other dues which have been or will be standardised by virtue of conventions which have been or will be concluded for the purposes of bringing about the Economic Union of Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands."

The instrument of ratification of the Agreement by the Netherlands includes the foregoing declaration.

⁴ Signature of the Agreement by Portugal accompanied with a reservation on the non-application of Article 6 in case of expropriation. The reservation was included in Portugal's instrument of ratification of the Agreement.

⁵ The instrument of ratification of the Agreement by Turkey includes the Agreed Minute signed on April 4, 1952.

⁶ The instrument of ratification of the Agreement by the United Kingdom includes the Agreed Minute signed on April 4, 1952.

⁷ The instrument of ratification of the Agreement by the United States includes the Extract signed on December 12, 1951