

The Deputy Secretary of Energy Washington, DC 20585

January 4, 2007

MEMORANDUM FOR DISTRIBUTION

FROM:

CLAY SELL

SUBJECT:

Clay Sel 1 Implementation of Department of Energy Manual

450.4-1, "Integrated Safety Management System

Manual"

The Department of Energy (DOE) Integrated Safety Management (ISM) System Manual was issued on November 1, 2006, as part of our concerted effort to strengthen the implementation of ISM. This manual clearly identifies and institutionalizes requirements and responsibilities for the development and implementation of ISM systems throughout DOE. A significant improvement in ISM implementation is expected to be seen based on the new requirements for the development and maintenance of ISM systems for Headquarters and Field Offices, as well as the supplemental information regarding the longstanding requirements for contractor ISM systems.

Our Federal offices play a crucial role in ISM implementation and are key to ensuring the successful revitalization of ISM. Through our actions, including direction and feedback, contract requirements, and budget decisions, our Federal organizations must create the necessary environment for safe work performance. Federal line management must also provide consistent attention to the effectiveness of contractor ISM systems through ongoing oversight and performance assurance activities. To further institutionalize these objectives and monitor progress in achieving our safety goals, the manual requires Secretarial Officers to issue an ISM system description by May 1, 2007, and Field Offices to issue an ISM system description by November 1, 2007. More specifically, the manual delineates the following responsibilities for Secretarial Offices and similar corresponding requirements for Field Offices:

- Develop, approve, maintain, and implement Secretarial and Field Office ISM systems as described in ISM system descriptions;
- Integrate Environmental Management Systems and Quality Assurance Programs into Secretarial and Field Office ISM systems;
- Conduct line oversight of the implementation of ISM at Field Offices;
- Perform an annual ISM effectiveness review and make an annual declaration of the status of ISM implementation within the Secretarial Office;
- Develop annual safety performance objectives, measures, and commitments:

- Identify a Secretarial Office ISM Champion to assist in fulfilling the Secretarial Office ISM responsibilities and provide support to the designated DOE ISM Co-Champions;
- Use results from annual ISM reviews and declarations to drive program ownership and improvement; and
- Provide schedules and direction to Field Offices for annual ISM effectiveness reviews and declarations, and the establishment of annual safety performance objectives, measures, and commitments.

In addition, the manual contains a Contractor Requirements Document (CRD) that supplements the existing DOE Acquisition Regulations pertaining to ISM. The CRD clarifies and reiterates expectations for contractors to prepare and submit the following on an annual basis:

- Evaluation reviews and declaration reports on ISM effectiveness;
- ISM system description updates, if changes are needed; and
- Safety performance objectives, measures, and commitments.

This annual cycle of review and action is essential for us to learn from our experiences and continuously improve our safety management systems. I expect you to ensure that this CRD is incorporated expeditiously into the applicable contracts.

As evidenced by the efforts of this Department during this past summer with the creation of the Office of Health, Safety and Security, the Secretary and I are strongly committed to strengthening worker health and safety and remain committed in our support for ISM as the Department's enduring framework for safely managing work activities. Protecting our workers, the public, and the environment is a top priority for the Department. Your sustained personal attention is essential to ensuring that work is performed safely on a daily basis through the effective application of and adherence to the principles and tenets of ISM.

Should you need any assistance in that regard, please do not hesitate to contact Glenn S. Podonsky, Chief Health, Safety and Security Officer, at (301) 903-3777 or Patricia R. Worthington, Director, Office of Health and Safety, at (301) 903-5926.

Distribution List for Implementation of Department of Energy Manual 450.4-1, "Integrated Safety Management System Manual"

David K. Garman, US

Linton F. Brooks, US

Raymond L. Orbach, US

Glenn S. Podonsky, HS-1

James A. Rispoli, EM-1

Ines R. Triay, EM-3

Dennis R. Spurgeon, NE-1

Alexander A. Karsner, EE-1

Jeffrey D. Jarrett, FE-1

Thomas P. D'Agostino, NA-10

Tyler Przbylek, NA-2

Richard H. Lagdon, Jr., US

James J. McConnell, NA-1

Frank B. Russo, NA-1

John D. Evans, NA-1

George J. Malosh, SC-3

Van T. Nguyen, SC-31.1

Joseph Malinovsky, EE-30

Dae Y. Chung, EM-24

Charles S. O'Dell, EM-3.2

Chuan-Fu Wu, EM-41

Dennis M. Miotla, NE-2.3

Michael N. Worley, NE-70

Camille C. Yuan-Soo Hoo, LSO

Edwin L. Wilmot, LASO

Jay H. Norman, NSO

Daniel E. Glenn, PX

Richard W. Arkin, SRS

Patrice M. Wagner, SO

Theodore D. Sherry, YSO

Karen L. Boardman, NZ

David C. Moody, III, CB

William J. Taylor, OH

William E. Murphie, PPPO

Keith A. Klein, RL

Roy J. Schepens, RL

Jeffrey M. Allison, SR

Jack R. Craig, Jr., CC

Elizabeth D. Sellers, NE-ID

Gerald G. Boyd, SC-ORO

Roxanne E. Purucker, SC-AMSO

Robert C. Wunderlich, SC-CH

Aundra M. Richards, SC-BSO

Michael D. Holland, SC-BHSO

Carson L. Nealy, SC-CH

Joanna M. Livengood, SC-FSO

Julie K. Erickson, SC-PNSO Jerry W. Faul, SC-PSO Nancy N. Sanchez, SC-CH James A. Turi, SC-TJSO

Vernon Daub, CB Robert W. Everson, CC Geoffrey L. Beausoleil, NE-ID Shirley J. Olinger, RL David R. Kozlowski, PPPO Michael J. Weis, RL William F. Spader, SR Christopher J. Eckert, OH Curtis A. Roth, KC Phillip E. Hill, LS Frederick J. Bell, LA Stephen A. Mellington, NS Richard C. Caummisar, PX Bruce W. Wilson, SV Kenneth E. Zamora, SN Douglas J. Dearolph, NNSA-OR David A. Chaney, NZ Michael A. Kilpatrick, HS-1 Mark B. Whitaker, Jr., HS-1.1 Patricia R. Worthington, HS-10 Patrice M. Bubar, HS-30 Bradley A. Peterson, HS-60 Thomas R. Staker, HS-64 David S. Compton, HS-1.1 Andrew J. Eggenberger, DNFSB