National Council on the Arts

The National Council on the Arts advises the Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts on agency policies and programs. It reviews and makes recommendations on applications for grants, funding guidelines, leadership initiatives, and nominations for the National Medal of Arts. The Council meets three times a year.

Fourteen voting members of the Council—all private citizens—are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate for six-year terms, and are selected for their distinguished service or achieved eminence in the arts. In 1997, Congress enacted legislation that required the appointment of six members of Congress, three from the House of Representatives and three from the Senate, to serve in an ex officio, non-voting capacity for two-year terms. Current Council members can be found on the NEA Web site at www.arts.gov.

The following indicate Council members who served in FY 2002:

Donald V. Cogman Marsha Mason *** Patron/Trustee Actor/Director Scottsdale, AZ Santa Fe, NM Cass Ballenger Gordon Davidson Maribeth Walton McGinley Theater Center Art Director/Designer (R-North Carolina) Director/Producer Glendale, CA Mike DeWine Los Angeles, CA Earl A. Powell. III U.S. Senate Katharine Cramer DeWitt Museum Director (R-Ohio) Patron/Trustee Washington, DC Richard Durbin Cincinnati, OH Cleo Parker Robinson U.S. Senate Hsin-Ming Fung ** Dance Company (D-Illinois) Director/Choreographer Architect Betty McCollum Denver, CO Los Angeles, CA U.S. House of Representatives Joy Harjo *** Deedie Potter Rose (D-Minnesota) Poet/Musician Patron/Trustee Howard "Buck" McKeon Honolulu. HI Philadelphia, PA

Joan Specter ***

Philadelphia, PA

Patron/Trustee

Nathan Leventhal *** Patron/Trustee New York, NY

Teresa Lozano Long Patron/Trustee Austin, TX

Luis Valdez * Theater Company Director San Juan Bautista, CA

(R-Alabama)

U.S. House of Representatives

U.S. House of Representatives (R-California)

Jeff Sessions U.S. Senate

Term expired in 2000, continues to serve until a successor takes office.

Term expired in 2001, continues to serve until a successor takes office.

^{***} Term expired in 2002, continues to serve until a successor takes office.