ws From the 2005 White House Conference on Aging

Contact: WHCoA Press Office

301-443-2394



For Immediate Release Wednesday, June 1, 2005

Illinois Delegates to the 2005 White House Conference on Aging Announced

The 2005 White House Conference on Aging (WHCoA) today announced the names of 27 delegates who will represent the state of Illinois at the conference to be held in Washington, DC from December 11 to 14, 2005. The delegation consists of 6 delegates named by Governor Rod R. Blagojevich and 21 named by members of Illinois's Congressional delegation.*

Twelve hundred delegates from throughout the country will participate in the 2005 WHCoA, the fifth such conference in our nation's history. Delegates will vote on resolutions and develop implementation strategies that will help the President and Congress shape aging policies for the next ten years and beyond. WHCoA Policy Committee Chairman Dorcas R. Hardy said, "Each of us has an incredible opportunity to take action that will benefit current and future generations of American seniors. I look forward to greeting all the delegates when they come to Washington, DC energized and ready to make history."

The theme for the 2005 WHCoA is "The Booming Dynamics of Aging: From Awareness to Action." The theme reflects the changing face of aging in America. The 2005 WHCoA is mandated by the Older Americans Act to focus on the interests and needs of current seniors as well as the 78 million baby boomers who will begin to turn 60 in 2006. Leading up to the WHCoA have been approximately 300 local, state and national events held across the nation involving more than 60,000 people with more anticipated. These events include WHCoA Listening Sessions, Solutions Forums, Mini-Conferences and Independent Aging Agenda Events.

The formula for state distribution of delegates was based on a total of 200 delegates divided among the states, U.S. Territories, Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia. Each state had the opportunity to select a minimum of two delegates. Additional state delegates were based upon each state's percentage of individuals age 55 and older compared to the nation's total population of persons aged 55 and older. Each U.S. Territory, Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia had the opportunity to select one delegate. The National Congress of American Indians received an allocation of 19 delegates to ensure representation from the American Indian nations. Each member of the Congressional delegation has named one delegate to the WHCoA. In addition, a number of At-Large Delegates will be selected by the Policy Committee based on an open application process that ends on June 1, 2005. Information about the WHCoA venue will be available shortly. More information about the WHCoA may be found on the website [http://www.whcoa.gov].

* A list of Illinois's delegates announced by the WHCoA follows. The list represents delegates named by the Governor and members of Congress. At-Large Delegates, to be selected by the WHCoA Policy Committee, will be announced later by the WHCoA.

ILLINOIS

Gubernatorial delegates:

Governor Rod Blagojevich

Rebecca Cruz Chicago

Janet Ellis Rockford

Nancy Flowers Evanston

Charles Johnson Springfield

Elizabeth O'Grady Chicago

Kerry Peck Chicago

Congressional delegates:

Senator Richard Durbin Anthony Perry

Chicago

Senator Barack Obama Tamar Heller

Chicago

Rep. Melissa Bean Jane Thomas

Barrington

Rep. Judy Biggert Colleen Ceh

Oak Brook

Rep. Jerry Costello Eugene Verdu

Belleville

Rep. Danny K. Davis Diane Saunders

Bellwood

Rep. Rahm Emanuel Joyce Gallagher

Chicago

Rep. Lane Evans Nancy Jameson

Carthage

Rep. Luis Gutierrez Julie Degnan

Chicago

Rep. Dennis Hastert Identa Austin

Yorkville

Rep. Henry Hyde Paul Kobi

Jackson, MN

Rep. Jesse Jackson, Jr. Cheryl Woodson

Chicago Heights

Rep. Timothy Johnson Brenda Eheart

Rantoul

Rep. Mark Kirk Margaret Hastings

Chicago

Rep. Ray LaHood Joanne Thomas

Peoria

Rep. Daniel Lipinski Donald Jurivich

Chicago

Rep. Donald Manzullo Diana Burke

Rockford

Rep. Bobby L. Rush Carol Humphries Jones

Chicago

Rep. Janice Schakowsky Jonathan Lavin

Oak Park

Rep. John Shimkus Charles Crowder

Flora

Rep. Jerry Weller Elaine Eisold

Morris

-30-