

Nevada Site Office News

News Media Contact:

Jennifer Morton, 702-295-4376 mortonjm@nv.doe.gov

For Immediate Release:

February 2, 2004

Southern Nevada High Schools to Compete in Nevada Regional Science Bowl

The 13th Annual Nevada Regional Science Bowl will take place February 6-7, 2004, at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). Thirty-two teams representing high schools in Arizona, California, Nevada, and Utah will test their expertise in the areas of math and science during the competition hosted by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), National Nuclear Security Administration Nevada Site Office (NNSA/NSO).

The following is a list of the teams representing Southern Nevada schools:

<u>Advanced Technologies Academy</u> (Las Vegas): **Team A:** Coach Geralyn Anderson and team members Sean Hostmeyer, Joel Mackey, Marco Matthews, Mark McKnight, Ryan Peeples.

Team B: Coach Mitchell Johnson and team members Scott McKnight, Jake Prunty, Faddy Sabra, Whitney Thompson, Zhan Tao Yang.

Bonanza High School (Las Vegas): Coach David Peltz and team members Joseph Wieser, Samantha Taghra, Patrick Coffey, Angela Patterson.

<u>Cheyenne High School</u> (Las Vegas): **Team A:** Coach Shawn Cruchet and team members Danielle Barker, Cholakarn Pungviriyarat, Brett Perry, Scott Smith, David Allshouse.

Team B: Coach Robert Tinnell and team members Jonathan Realmuto, Kelvin Knox, Joseph Rodrigues, Alexander Gallegos, Shauna Woodward.

<u>Clark High School</u> (Las Vegas): Coach Beth Isaacs and team members Young Ran, Alex Cerjanic, Yang Wang, Ryan Weicker, Henry Wong.

<u>Durango High School</u> (Las Vegas): **Team A:** Coach Roy P. Reeder, Jr. and team members Lacey Fabbi, Esther Son, Chris Gardner, Ryan Santos, Nicolle de Guzman **Team B:** Coach Donald Bohm and team members Ralph Santos, Jennifer Guanio, Al Ponsa ZaPra, Monica Tsao, Stanley Kan.

Foothill High School (Henderson): Team A: Coach Sherwood Jones and team members

Karen Mogren, Alesha Given, Patrick Donnelly, Tiffany Draut. **Team B:** Coach Gary Wood and team members Andrew Dryanski, Anthony Gentuso, Lisa Mogren, Sarah Heimark.

<u>Green Valley High School</u> (Henderson): Coach Michelle Feinblatt and team members Edan Yacobovsky, Andrew Chang, Philip Keegan, Katrina Lewin, Jonathan Ebert.

<u>Las Vegas High School</u> (Las Vegas): **Team A:** Coach David Grade and team members Senny Wong, Edward Bravo, Kelsey Cutler, Alessio Luinetti, Eunice Barron. **Team B:** Coach Peter Rost and team members Nicolas Bui, Kim O' Shea, Teinesha Irvey, Paulo Faupel.

<u>The Meadows School</u> (Las Vegas): Coach Laura Ann Glismann and team members Doug Stamm, Jared Shier, Tiffany Lee, Niranjan Sivakumar, Christina Hummel.

<u>Pahrump High School</u> (Pahrump): Coach Rhonda Paxton and team members Larry Selvy, Raymond Martinez, Kody Stone, Jeff Porter, Jon Brown.

<u>Shadow Ridge High School</u> (Las Vegas): Coach Camille Stack and team members Robert Noorda, Vance Jaeger, Tesla Birnbaum, Megan Mohr, Nathan Lake.

NV-04-05 - more -

A mock Science Bowl practice will take place at 7:30 p.m. Friday, February 6, at UNLV's Bigelow Physics Building Lobby and Auditorium. Teams will have an opportunity to interact with their competitors, attend various scientific symposiums, learn the rules of the game, and practice answering questions using the official Science Bowl buzzers.

The 13-round competition will begin at 8:00 a.m. Saturday, February 7, in UNLV's Classroom Building Complex. NNSA/NSO will host a luncheon at 11:45 a.m. in the Moyer Student Union Grand Ballroom, and Nathan Tannenbaum, KTNV TV-13 weathercaster, will serve as Master of Ceremonies. The final round of competition will begin at 5:15 p.m. and the winning team will be announced at 6:25 p.m.

Teams will compete for the Nevada Regional Science Bowl title, a trip to the National Science Bowl, and prize money ranging from \$2,500 to \$100.

NV-04-05

NNSA/NSO Office of Public Affairs

P.O. Box 98518 Las Vegas, NV 89193-8518