Chairman
Robert G. Neumann
Vice Chairman
EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS
Ray S. Cline
Alvin J. Cottrell
Amos A. Jordan, Jr.

David M. Abshire

Amos A. Jordan Jr.
Michael A Samuels
Robert Kupperman
SENIOR STAFF
Sevinc Carlson
George A Carver. Jr.
Chester A Crocker
Christa D K Dantzler
Charles K. Ebinger
Penelope Hartland-Thunberg
William G. Hyland
Rodney W. Jones
Robert A. Kilmarx
Michael A. Ledeen
Edward N. Luttwak
Michael Moodie
Francis X. Murray
Kenneth A Myers
Paul Craig Roberts
John Shaw
Sterling G. Slappey
M. Jon Vondracek
David A. Wendt
John Yochelson

Joseph Godson Kenichi Ito Joyce R. Starr ADVISORY BOARD Chairman Frederick Seitz

Overseas Representatives

Vice Chairmen Theodore A. Burtis Alexander M. Haig, Jr. Leonard H. Marks Ralph A. Pfeiffer, Jr.

Richard V. Allen Frank R. Barnett Charles L. Bartlett n. Lloyd Bentsen Rep. Don Bonker Emile Boursier Rep. Clarence Brown L Dean Brown Carter L. Burgess Horace Busby Glenn Campbell Jack G. Clarke Lester Crown Oscar Dystel Carlo De Benedetti Rep. Dante B. Fascell Rep. Millicent Fenwick Rep. Paul Findley W.H. Krome George Kenneth O. Gilmore Maurice R. Greenberg Sen. Gary Hart Sylvia Hassenfeld Martin Hillenbrand Sen. J. Bennett Johnston, Jr. Max M. Kampelman Donald M. Kendali William F. Kreschnick Joseph Kraft James E. Lee Walter J. Levy Sen. James A. McClure R. Daniel McMichael J. William Middendorf II Sen. Robert Morgan Robert Mosbacher Sen. Daniel P. Moynihan Robert Novak

Sen. Sam Nunn Most Rev. John J. O'Connor, D.D.

Gerald L. Parsky Sen. Claiborne Pell

William D. Rogers Arthur Ross Sen. William V. Roth, Jr.

Rep. John J. Rhodes J. Hugh Roff, Jr.

Rep. James D. Santini George T. Scharffenberger

Rep. Al Ullman Jean-Louis van den Branden

Stephan Schmidheiny Brent Scowcroft

Harvey L. Silbert Howard K. Smith William French Smith

Yasun Takeyama

Hobart Taylor, Jr. William C. Turner

George Will Rep. Bob Wilson

Vincent A. Wolfington R. James Woolsey Rep. Clement J. Zablocki Gordon B. Zacks Stanley Zax

Harriet M. Zimmerman

The Center for Strategic and International Studies

Georgetown University / 1800 K Street / Washington DC 20006 / Telephone 202/887-0200

Henry A. Kissinger, Counselor Robert J. Henle, S.J., Counselor Jack H. Bridges, Senior Associate James R. Schlesinger, Senior Advisor Cable Address: CENSTRAT TWX: 7108229583

EXECUTIVE BOARD: Nathaniel Samuels, Chairman / Anne Armstrong, Vice Chairman / David M. Abshire / Leo Cherne / T. Byron Collins, S.J. / Peter F. Krogh / Morris I. Leibman / Thomas H. Moorer / James R. Schlesinger / Frederick Seitz / Ronald L. Smith

January 19, 1981

JAN 20 1981

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Mr. Joshua Lederberg President Rockefeller University 1230 York Avenue New York, New York 10021

Dear Mr. Lederberg:

Since the end of World War II, the United States has sustained its national security through technological superiority. Today, however, American defense analysts express serious concern that the U.S. edge in military-related technology is evaporating. In large part, this development is the consequence of problems associated with the American R&D process.

In 1973 CSIS assembled a panel of scientists and defense experts intimately acquainted with the defense research and development community to examine U.S. military R&D. This panel produced a widely-publicized critique of the R&D process and a series of policy recommendations widely circulated throughout the government. A copy of their conclusions and recommendations is enclosed.

It is now imperative that this process be repeated. American military research and development must be reinvigorated if the United States is not to further diminish its lagging capability to maintain its military strength. A blue-ribbon panel of scientists and defense experts is needed to review the present state of U.S. military R&D and to make fundamental policy recommendations to a national audience in order to elicit a widespread commitment to reversing present trends in the American R&D process.

On behalf of the Center for Strategic and International Studies, I would like to invite you to become a member of this important panel. Both Jim Woolsey (the panel Vice Chairman and former Under Secretary of the Navy) and I believe your participation would be a valuable contribution to our work.

RESEARCH COUNCIL. Walter Laqueur, Chairman / Raymond F. Mikesell, Co-Chairman / B. Boutros-Ghali / Karl Brunner / Alvin J. Cottrell / Mei Croan / W. Phillips Davison / Curt Gasteyger / Stephen Gibert / Ernst Halperin / Pierre Hassner / Robert J. Henle, S.J. / David Hubbard / Fred Ikle / Charles Issawi / Daoed Joesoel / Jeane J. Kirkpatrick / J. Clayburn LaForce / Bernard Lewis / Richard Lowenthal / Laurence W. Martin / Klaus Mehnert / Alec Nove / William V. O'Brien / Robert Osgood / Robert A. Scalapino / Paul Seabury / Frederick Seitz / Hugh Seton-Walson / Andrew Shonfield / Gaston J. Sigur / Henri Simonet / S. Fred Singer / Roger Swanson / Jun Tsunoda / Richard L. Walker / Don Wallace, Jr. / Robert E. Ward / Murray L. Weidenbaum / Albert Wohlstetter / Roberta Wohlstetter / Aharon Yariv

We expect that all our panel members will be active participants, not only in plenary meetings at which panel reports will be reviewed, but between meetings as well. We hope that panelists will make strong inputs in terms of both ideas and language during the drafting stages. Finally, if our work is to have the greatest impact, we hope all panel members will present and promote panel conclusions to those audiences who will influence R&D decisions.

Clearly, it is an active agenda we have set for ourselves and we realize the heavy demands on your schedule. Nevertheless, we are convinced that this work is of the utmost urgency. Your participation will help bring us a highly successful conclusion to this vitally important task.

We hope you will be able to join us. If so, we are planning our first meeting for March. If you would let us know what dates are unacceptable, as well as those most convenient for you, we will schedule that meeting at the time most panel members are available.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

With best wishes.

Sincerely yours,

Frederick Seitz Panel Chairman

Enclosure