Appendix A Acknowledgments

SECOND EDITION TEAM MEMBERS

The Federal Emergency Management Agency would like to acknowledge the significant contributions made by following individuals in developing the second edition of this publication.

FEMA

John Ingargiola – FEMA Headquarters

Jack Anderson – FEMA Headquarters

Marcus Barnes – FEMA Headquarters

Kent Baxter - FEMA Region VI

Daniel Catlett – FEMA Headquarters

Robert Franke – FEMA Region VII

Edward Laatsch - FEMA Headquarters

John Plisich – FEMA Region IV

Shabbar Saifee - FEMA Headquarters

Jonathan Smith - FEMA Headquarters

Jody Springer - FEMA Headquarters

Keith Turi – FEMA Headquarters

Zachary Usher - FEMA Headquarters

Brian Willsey - FEMA Headquarters

CONSULTANTS

Scott Tezak, PE, URS

William Coulbourne, PE, URS

Bill Johnson, URS

Omar Kapur, URS

Shane Parson, PhD, URS

Bogdan Srdanovic, URS

Deb Daly, Greenhorne & O'Mara

A ACKNOWLEDGMENTS SECOND EDITION

Julie Liptak, Greenhorne & O'Mara Jimmy Yeung, PhD, PE, Greenhorne & O'Mara John Squerciati, PE, Dewberry Wanda Rizer, Consultant

PROJECT TEAM AND REVIEW COMMITTEE

Robert Boteler, MEMA (Mississippi)

David Bowman, International Code Council

Ronald Cook, University of Florida

Kenneth Ford, National Association of Home Builders

Dennis Graber, National Concrete Masonry Association

Christopher P. Jones, PE

Ernst Kiesling, PhD, PE, Texas Tech University

Danny Kilcollins, Florida Division of Emergency Management

Philip Line, American Forestry and Paper Association

Marc Madden, American Red Cross

Joseph J. Messersmith, PCA

Sam Nelson, Texas Department of Insurance

Tim Reinhold, PhD, Institute for Business and Home Safety

William Rutherford, Clemons-Rutherford

Corey Schultz, PBA Architects, P.A.

Larry Tanner, RA, PE, Wind Science and Engineering Center, Texas Tech University Cliff Vaughn, FlatSafe Tornado Shelters

FIRST EDITION TEAM MEMBERS

FEMA would also like to acknowledge the members of the Project Team for the first edition of this manual. The team comprised engineers from FEMA's Mitigation Directorate, consulting design engineering firms, and university research institutions. All engineering and testing efforts required to complete this project were performed by the team. (Note: All affiliations and titles were current at the time of publication of the first edition in July 2000.)

FEMA

James L. Witt, Director, FEMA
Clifford Oliver, CEM, CBCP, FEMA Mitigation Directorate
Paul Tertell, PE, FEMA Mitigation Directorate

CONSULTANTS

William Coulbourne, PE, Greenhorne & O'Mara

Ernst Kiesling, PhD, PE, Wind Engineering Research Center, Texas Tech University

Daniel Medina, PhD, PE, Dewberry & Davis, LLC

Kishor Mehta, PhD, PE, Wind Engineering Research Center, Texas Tech University

Shane Parson, PhD, Dewberry & Davis, LLC

Robert Pendley, Greenhorne & O'Mara

Scott Schiff, PhD, Clemson University

Scott Tezak, PE, Greenhorne & O'Mara

The American Red Cross, Clemson University, the International Code Council® (ICC®), Texas Tech University, and the U.S. Department of Education assisted FEMA in the preparation of the first edition of the manual by providing invaluable guidance and participating on the project Review Committee.

The following individuals made significant contributions to the first edition of the manual. (Note: All affiliations and titles were current at the time of publication of the first edition in July 2000.)

Eugene Brislin, Jr., PE, Structural Engineer

Wes Britson, PE, Professional Engineering Consultants

Russell Carter, EIT, Wind Engineering Research Center, Texas Tech University

Gene Corley, PhD, SE, PE, Construction Technology Laboratories

David Low, PE, Greenhorne & O'Mara

Norland Plastics, Haysville, KS

Timothy Reinhold, PhD, Clemson University

Joseph T. Schaefer, PhD, Storm Prediction Center, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association

Emil Simiu, PhD, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Larry Tanner, RA, PE, Wind Engineering Research Center, Texas Tech University

In addition to the individuals listed directly above, the following individuals also served on the Review Committee of the first edition of the manual. The committee was composed of design professionals; representatives of federal, state, and local governments; and members of public and private sector groups that represent the potential owners and operators of community shelters. (Note: All affiliations and titles were current at the time of publication of the first edition in July 2000.)

Kent Baxter, FEMA Region VI

Larry K. Blackledge, Blackledge and Associates Architects

A ACKNOWLEDGMENTS SECOND EDITION

John Cochran, FEMA, United States Fire Administration

Doug Cole, Manufactured Home Park Owner

Glenn Fiedelholtz, FEMA Preparedness, Training, and Exercise Directorate

Robert Franke, FEMA Region VII

John Gambel, FEMA Mitigation Directorate

Louis Garcia, American Red Cross

Michael Gaus, University of Buffalo

Danny Ghorbani, Manufactured Housing Association for Regulatory Reform

Dirk Haire, Associated General Contractors of America

Dave Hattis, Building Technology Incorporated

E. Jackson, Jr., American Institute of Architects

Aziz Khondker, ESG, Inc.

Danny Kilcollins, National Emergency Management Association

Fred Krimgold, Virginia Tech, Northern Virginia Center

Edward Laatsch, FEMA Mitigation Directorate

Randolph Langenbach, FEMA Infrastructure Division

Emmanuel Levy, Manufactured Housing Research Alliance

John Lyons, U.S. Department of Education, Office of the Director

Robert McCluer, Building Officials and Code Administrators International

Rick Mendlen, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Consumer Affairs

Charles Moore, Kansas Department on Aging

Peggy Mott, American Red Cross, Planning and Evaluation Directorate

Mark Nunn, Manufactured Housing Institute

Steven Pardue, FEMA Mitigation Directorate

Jim Rossberg, American Society of Civil Engineers

Corey Schultz, PBA Architects, P.A.

Robert Solomon, National Fire Protection Association

Eric Stafford, Southern Building Code Congress International, Inc.

Dan Summers, International Association of Emergency Managers

S. Shyam Sunder, Structures Division, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Carol W. Thiel, Maryland Emergency Management Agency

William Wall, International Conference of Building Officials

Jarrell Williams, Manufactured Home Park Owner

Soy Williams, International Code Council

The following individuals were corresponding members of the Review Committee of the first edition of the manual. (Note: All affiliations and titles were current at the time of publication of the first edition in July 2000.)

Deborah Chapman, National Foundation of Manufactured Housing Owners, Inc.

Jim Fearing, Fearing & Hagenauer Architects, Inc.

Daniel Gallucci, New Necessities, Inc.

Robert Hull, Olathe School District, Kansas

Lynn White, National Child Care Association

Larry Karch, State Farm Insurance Companies, Facilities Management Division Mark Levitan, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University Jerry McHale, Federation of Manufactured Housing Owners of Florida, Inc. Dick Nystrom, State Farm Insurance Companies, Facilities Management Division Janet Potter, National Foundation of Manufactured Housing Owners, Inc. Audrey Staight, American Association of Retired Persons, Public Policy Institute