International Workshop on *In Vitro* Methods for Assessing Acute Systemic Toxicity

Invited Expert Scientists

Group 1: In Vitro Screening Methods

- 1. Julia Fentem, Unilever, UK, Co-Chair
- 2. Charles Tyson, SRI International, Co-Chair
- 3. Robert Combes, FRAME UK
- 4. **Rodger Curren**, Institute for In Vitro Sciences
- 5. Elke Genschow, ZEBET, Berlin, Germany
- 6. Alan Goldberg, Johns Hopkins University Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing
- 7. **A. Wallace Hayes**, Gillette Company
- 8. Manfried Liebsch, ZEBET, Berlin, Germany
- 9. Lennart Romert, CTLU-MEIC, Stockholm
- 10. Noriho Tanaka, Food and Drug Safety Center, Japan

- 1. Kailash Gupta, CPSC
- 2. Ken Hastings, FDA, CDER
- 3. Abdallah Khasawinah, EPA, HED
- 4. Elizabeth Margosches, EPA, OPPT
- 5. Phil Sayre, EPA, OPPT
- 6. Leonard Schechtman, FDA, CDER
- 7. Suhair Shallal, EPA, HED
- 8. William Stokes, NIEHS

Group 2: In Vitro Methods for Toxicokinetics

Bas Blaauboer, Utrecht University, The Netherlands, Co-Chair Harvey Clewell, Consultant, Co-Chair Richard Clothier, FRAME, Univ. of Nottingham, UK Charles Crespi, Gentest Corp Benjamin Gerson, Am. Soc. Of Clin. Pathlogists Gabrielle Hawksworth, University of Aberdeen, UK Greg Kedderis, CIIT Karl Rozman, Kansas Univ. Medical Center Cal Willhite, State of California, Dept. of Tox. Substances

- 1. Mike Cunningham, NIEHS
- 2. John Frazier, USAF
- 3. Steve Hundley, FDA, CDER
- 4. Harry Salem, U.S. Army

Group 3: In Vitro Methods for Organ Specific Toxicity

Kathy Stitzel, Proctor & Gamble, Co-Chair Erik Walum, Pharmacia & Upjohn AB, Sweden, Co-Chair Dan Bagley, Colgate-Palmolive Michael Balls, ECVAM Gene Elmore, University of California, Irvine Anna Forsby, Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden Sidney Green, Howard University

- 1. **Jim Antonini**, NIOSH
- 2. Rajendra Chhabra, NIEHS
- 3. Karen Hamernik, EPA, OPP
- 4. **Jerry Heindel**, NIEHS
- 5. **David Lester**, FDA, CDER

......

Group 4: Reference Chemicals for Validation of In Vitro Acute Toxicity Test Methods

Angela Auletta, EPA, OPPT, Co-Chair Leon Bruner, Gillette Company, Co-Chair Martin Barratt, Independent Consultant, UK James Cone, California Dept. of Health Services John Harbell, Institute of In Vitro Sciences Peter Jurs, University of Pennsylvania Gilles Klopman, Case West. Reserve Univ.

- 1. Tom Collins, FDA, CFSAN
- 2. George Cushmac, DOT
- 3. Leonard Keifer, EPA, OPPT
- 4. John O'Rangers, FDA, CVM
- 5. Alberto Protzel, EPA, OPP
- 6. Errol Zeiger, NIEHS

Organizing Committee for International Workshop on In Vitro Methods for Assessing Acute Systemic Toxicity

Organizing Committee Co-Chairs

Dr. John Frazier, U.S. Air Force

Dr. Philip Sayre, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

ICCVAM Co-Chairs

Dr. Richard Hill, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. William Stokes, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Organizing Committee Members

Dr. Surender Ahir, Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Dr. Angela Auletta, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. Ron Brown, Food and Drug Administration

Dr. Tom Collins, Food and Drug Administration

Dr. George Cushmac, Department of Transportation

Dr. Peter Goering, Food and Drug Administration

Dr. Kailash Gupta, Consumer Product Safety Commission

Dr. Karen Hamernik, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. Jerry Heindel, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Ms. Vera Hudson, National Library of Medicine

Dr. Stephen Hundley, Food and Drug Administration

Dr. Elizabeth Margosches, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. Leonard M. Schechtman, Food and Drug Administration

Dr. Melvin Stratmeyer, Food and Drug Administration

Dr. Kenneth Weber, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

Dr. Errol Zeiger, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Organizing Committee Support Staff

Dr. Ray Tice, Integrated Laboratory Systems, Inc

Mr. Brad Blackard, Integrated Laboratory Systems, Inc.

Ms. Christina Inhof, Integrated Laboratory Systems, Inc.