8 AGENCIES, ORGANIZATIONS, AND PERSONS CONSULTED

8.1 AGENCIES AND ORGANIZATIONS CONSULTED FOR THE FEDERAL ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT

The following agencies, organizations, or individuals were consulted during the Federal NEPA process.

FEDERAL AGENCIES

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation National Interagency Coordination Center National Park Service National Register of Historic Places U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics U.S. Census Bureau American Community Survey Office U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest Service Natural Resources Conservation Service National Water & Climate Center U.S. Department of the Interior Office of Environmental Policy and Compliance Bureau of Indian Affairs, Southern California Agency U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, (CMD-2), Region 9 U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Pacific

STATE OF HAWAI'I AGENCIES

Islands Manager

Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism Department of Hawaiian Home Lands Department of Health Office of Environmental Quality Control Department of Land and Natural Resources Board of Land and Natural Resources Historic Preservation Division Legislative Reference Bureau Office of Hawaiian Affairs University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo Department of Astronomy Office of Mauna Kea Management Kahu Ku Mauna Mauna Kea Management Board University of Hawaiʻi at Manoa Environmental Center Institute for Astronomy Mauna Kea Support Services

COUNTY OF HAWAI'I

Mayor, the Honorable Harry Kim County of Hawai'i, Council Chairman Department of Planning, Director

STATE OF CALIFORNIA AGENCIES

California Department of Conservation California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection California Department of Transportation California State Clearinghouse University of California

CALIFORNIA COUNTY AND CITY AGENCIES

City of Pasadena, Mayor's Office County of San Diego Air Pollution Control District Department of Planning and Land Use Department of Public Works Department of Environmental Health Forest Area Safety Taskforce Office of Emergency Services **Planning Commission** Solid Waste Local Enforcement Agency Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning Sheriff's Department, Crescenta Valley Station Pala Band of Mission Indians San Diego Air Pollution Control District San Diego Historical Society

South Coast Air Quality Management District Southern California Edison Southern California Tribal Chairman's Association University of San Diego, Indian Reservations in San Diego County

STATE OF ARIZONA AGENCIES

Department of Environmental Quality

ARIZONA COUNTY AND CITY AGENCIES

City of Flagstaff, Mayor's Office

CANARY ISLANDS AGENCIES

Organismo Autónomo Parques Nacionales (National Parks Agency)

FLORIDA COUNTY AND CITY AGENCIES

University of Florida

OBSERVATORIES

Caltech Submillimeter Observatory Canada-France-Hawai'i Telescope Gemini North Gran Telescopio Canarias Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias James Clerk Maxwell Telescope Lowell Observatory, Flagstaff, Arizona Mount Palomar Observatory Mount Wilson Observatory Roque de Los Muchachos Observatory Smithsonian Submillimeter Array Subaru Telescope United Kingdom Infrared Telescope Very Large Baseline Array W.M. Keck Observatory

ORGANIZATIONS

Ahahui Ku Mauna Ahahui Malama I Ka Lokahi

Aha Kahuna Nui, Hilo Association of Hawaiian Civic Clubs, Hilo Automobile Club of Southern California **Bishop Science Museum** California Association for Research in Astronomy Conservation Council for Hawai'i Edith Kanaka'ole Foundation, Hilo Hāmākua Hawaiian Civic Club, Honoka'a Hawai'i Island Burial Council Hui Mālama I Nā Kūpuna O Hawai'i Nei Ilo'ulaokalani Coalition **KAHEA** Ka Lahui Hawai'i, Honolulu Kawaihae Homestead Association, Kawaihae Kingdom of Hawai'i Kohala Hawaiian Civic Club, Hawi Kona Hawaiian Civic Club, Holualoa Kona Hawaiian Civic Club, Holualoa Life of the Land Malama O Puna Mauna Kea Anaina Hou Moku O Hawai'i Protect Kohanaiki Ohana, Kailua-Kona Royal Order of Kamehameha I Queen Lili'uokalani Children's Center, Kailua-Kona Sierra Club (Local Chapter) South Kohala Hawaiian Civic Club, Waikoloa Waimea Hawaiian Civic Club, Kamuela Waimea Hawaiian Homestead Association, Kamuela

8.2 INDIVIDUALS CONSULTED

Ku'uipo Adamson, A.J. and T Aila, William Aiu, Pua Albertini, Jim Allison, Allen Anderson, Sarah Apoliona, Haunani Arakaki, James Ayau, Edward Halealoha Bath, Douglas Bauer, Betty A. Beaseley, Oscar and Shirlene Beeman, Al Bell, Geraldine Bezona, Norman Blackburn, Thomas Bloom, Robert Bogaard, Bill Brady, Kat Brust, Jr., R.W. Budge, A.G. Burney, Glenn Carpenter, Cindy Cayan, Coochie Ching, Baron Ching, Eileen Coleman, Paul Combs, Karen Conklin, Ken Cook, Patti Curtis, Henry Damaso, Hoku Davies, Casev Davies, Tony Dawson, Dwavne Dayton, Kevin DeSoto, A. "Frenchy" Diamond, Ahlan Dill, Paul Dittmar, Jim Doktor. Pete Donaldson, Joseph Donegan, Patrick Doyle, Kevin Ebel, Bud Elavionoff, Leningrad Erway, Marjorie Evans, Cindy Fergerstrom, Hanalei Fergerstrom, Harry Field-Gomes. Anne E. Fielding, Emily J. Franco, Everett

Fujiyoshi, Ronald Gagney, Betsy Garmon, Ulunui Gavin, Suzanne Gilbert, Kirby Golden, Kathleen and Peter Golden, Susan Gomes, David Gora, Kelii Grover, Ravi Harden, Cory Hauser, Valerie Helela, Noa Helfrich, Paula Hendricks, Pete Ho, Nelson Hodson, Chrystal Hodson, Micah Hoke, Arthur Ho'ohuli, Josiah Howarth, Francis G. Hubbard, Lela Ishida, Catherine Johnson, Alan Josephides, Analu and Anela Kahanamoku, Bonny Kaiser, Nick Kajihiro, Kyle Kalani, Kay Kala'au Wahilani Kaliko, K. Kamakawiwo'ole, Reynolds Kane, Micah Kaniho, Richard K. Kanhele, Pualani Kapono, Clifford P. Kapuniai, Kanani Kealamukia, Moses Kelly, Colleen Keppler, Bruss Kimura, Kaʻiu Kimura, Larry L. Kinoshita, Kyle Kirimitsu. Walter Knopp, Graham Knox, Josh

Kobyashi, Mary Lou Kokubun, Russell Kubat, Kristine Kulana, Mikahala Lancaster, Raylene Leslie, Gene Liu, Ted Lopez-Mau, Lehua Lovell, David John Lovell, H.S. Lovell, Kawika Loy, Genesis Lee Lulding, Emily Mallow, Toni Manuel, Ben Markel, Kuauhau Mamo Naliko Marko, Julia Matsuda, Rick McAlister, Hal McEldowney, Holly McGuire, Robert McKeen, Kaka'olelo Ali'i Sir Robert McRae, Jim Meek, Chanda Millis, Robert Muhlestein, Kaimo and Kahale Nagata, Stephanie Nelson, Dickie Nervig, Carole Neves, Paul Newman, Jeff Nihipali, Kunani Pang, Keali'i Parks, Genevieve Peek, Tom Pilago, Angel Pisciotta, Kealoha Purdy, Paul Rattel, Andrew Reeves. Hannah Rew, John and Brenda Rezentes, Cynthia Roberts, John Roberts. Terry Rose, Charles Sakurai, Tyler

Salmonson, Genevieve Samborn, J. William Schaefer, Barbara Shebeck, Roy Sherlock, Ululani Shimoteswa, June Shull, Carol Siracusa, René Smith, Cha Smith, Dave Snow, Andrew Soto, Roy Souza-Save, Gail Stark, Jean Marie Steenburg, Jim and Pam Sterling, JoAnne Stevens, Ed Stone, Fred Stormont, Bill Studholme, Priscilla Subedi, Lilette A. Sullivan, Paul Sutherland, Donna Sweetser, Cathy Takamine, Vicky Holt Tayama, Steven Taylor, Willie Teale, Laulani Terangi, Kahu Thompson, Rod Tobin, Richard Tolentino, Mabel Tomsovic, David Tsujin, Rush Turner, Tim Tuttle, Andrea Twigg-Smith, Thurston Valdez, Shelly Villesvik, Alan Villesvik, John VonGogh, Keomailani Ward, Deborah Wells, Richard White, Nat Whitney, Tom Wolforth, Thomas

Yuen, Christopher Ziegler, Marjorie

Approximately 250 virtually identical e-mails were received from individuals entitled "Prevent Further Degradation of Mauna Kea." This page intentionally left blank.