## **Congressional Arts Competition**

**Congressional Arts Competition** 

The winners of the 2008 Congressional Arts Competition were announced February 9, during a ceremony at the Visual Arts Alliance of McPherson. The annual competition showcases the artistic abilities of Kansas high school students. This year, more than 100 entries were received from 14 schools throughout the congressional district.

This year's competition was divided into six categories: painting, drawing, collage, mixed media, printmaking and photography. Ciera Nelson of Little River received best of show for her acrylic painting entitled Sunset. Ciera's artwork will be on display this year in the U.S. Capitol.

The winners of each category are as follows:

Painting:

First Place: Christen Markovich, Great Bend High School

Second Place: Kali Roberts, Hill City High School

Third Place: Pam Watson, St. John High School

Drawing:

First Place: Andrea Ferretti, Deerfield High School

Second Place: Lane Porter, McPherson High School

Third Place: Kwan Watson, St. John High School

Collage:

First Place: Emily Bucl, Hill City High School

Second Place: Lane Porter, McPherson High School

Third Place: Molly Rondeau, Great Bend High School

## Mixed Media:

First Place: Jessica Miller, Little River High School

Second Place: Kelsie Nickelson, Hill City High School

Third Place: Emily Bucl, Hill City High School

Printmaking:

First Place: Adrienne Wolters, Osborne High School

Second Place: Apryl Schmucker, Little River High School

Third Place: Jacy Porter, Little River High School

Photography:

First Place: Danielle Dougherty, Little River High School

Second Place: Megan Stagner, Little River High School

Third Place: Elizabeth Stephens, Wheatland High School

Interested students and teachers may contact my Hutchinson district office for more information about the 2009 competition.

2008 Winner

"Sunset"

by Ciera Nelson

Little River High School

Little River, Kan.

2007 Winner

"Handpicked"

by Hannah Beattie

Little River High School

Little River, Kan.

2006 Winner

"Earthmovers"

by Jordan Zerr

Wheatland High School

Grainfield, Kan.