

Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President Eisenhower Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20502

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 15, 2005 Contact: Don (202 dtigt

Donald Tighe (202) 456-6098 dtighe@ostp.eop.gov

Science, Math, and Engineering Mentors Receive Presidential Honors

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The White House today announced ten individuals and one institution who will receive the 2005 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM). This Presidential Award recognizes individuals and organizations that have demonstrated a commitment to mentoring students and increasing the participation of minorities, women, and disabled students in science, mathematics and engineering. The individual and institutional awardees will be honored on November 16, 2005, at an awards ceremony in Washington, DC presided over by John H. Marburger, science advisor to President George W. Bush and director, Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President.

The annual award, administered by the National Science Foundation, includes a \$10,000 grant for continued mentoring work and a Presidential commemorative certificate. The PAESMEM program seeks to identify outstanding mentoring efforts and programs designed to enhance the participation of groups underrepresented in science, mathematics and engineering. The awardees will serve as exemplars to their colleagues and will be leaders in the national effort to more fully develop the Nation's human resources in science, mathematics and engineering.

The 2005 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring awardees are:

INDIVIDUAL AWARDEES:

Mr. Alonzo Warren Ashley Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA

Dr. Sarwan Kumar Dhir Fort Valley State University, Fort Valley, GA

Dr. Joseph Augustus Gardella Jr. State University of New York at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY

Dr. Rosemary Grace Gillespie University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA Dr. Tanya Furman Larson Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA

Dr. Jong Pil Lee State University of New York, College at Old Westbury, Old Westbury, NY

Dr. David Lee Pagni California State University, Fullerton Foundation, Fullerton, CA

Dr. Ashok Puri University of New Orleans, New Orleans, LA

Dr. Cheryl Bunnett Schrader Boise State University, Boise, ID

Dr. Sheryl Ann Tucker University of Missouri, Columbia, Columbia, MO

INSTITUTIONAL AWARDEE:

The University of California, Irvine, Irvine, California Dr. Luis M. Mota-Bravo, Accepting

###