Third International Conference on Fission and Properties of Neutron-Rich Nuclei

Second Announcement

The Third International Conference on Fission and Properties of Neutron-Rich Nuclei will be held November 3–9, 2002, on Sanibel Island, Florida. This conference is patterned after the previous two conferences held in 1997 and 1999.

This announcement includes topics to be included in the conference, a call for submission of abstracts, information about the conference site, and registration information.

Conference Website

http://www.orau.gov/neutron/fissionconf.html

This website contains all of the information in these announcements as well as registration procedures.

Topics

Topics planned for this conference include:

Nuclear Structure Theory
Nuclear Structure Experiments
Theory of Fission Processes
Fission Experiments
Nuclear Astrophysics
Drip-line Nuclei
Superheavy Elements
Nuclear Masses
Accelerated Radioactive Beam Facilities and Plans

Call for Abstracts

In addition to invited papers, talks will be selected from submitted abstracts for oral presentation. Remaining contributions can be presented in a poster session. Those wishing to contribute to the conference should submit an abstract by August 1, 2002. Invited speakers are requested to submit an abstract. The abstracts must not exceed one page and should be prepared according to instructions on the conference website. Abstracts should be sent to the conference secretary by email. If this is not possible a hard copy will be accepted.

Proceedings

As in previous conferences in this series, World Scientific will publish the proceedings.

Manuscripts will be collected at the beginning of the conference and subjected to appropriate refereeing. Additional details related to preparation of the manuscripts will be provided on the conference website.

Registration

The conference registration fee is \$400 for those registering prior to September 1, 2002, and \$450 after September 1. This registration fee includes breakfasts, lunches, breaks, banquet, and proceedings. In addition, companions may buy breakfast/lunch passes for \$175 and banquet tickets for \$40. If possible, please register using the conference website otherwise contact the Conference Secretary.

Venue and Accommodations

The conference will be held on Sanibel Island off the southern coast of Florida in November when the weather is excellent (75–80 F) and the Gulf still warm enough for swimming and sea shelling. The conference center, Sundial Beach Resort, is directly on the beach and has many additional sports opportunities including: sail boats, swimming pools, tennis, golf, bicycling, and an exercise room. There is a nature reserve where one can go by canoe, bicycle, or car to observe wildlife and the Florida Everglades are less than an hour away. The Sundial holds activities for children. A conference-hosted excursion will be provided to an outer island.

The accommodations are all one and two bedroom condominiums with kitchens and living areas. Note that two bedroom apartments are available and room arrangements and pricing is such that they can be easily shared between conferees. To ensure receiving the conference rates, reservations must be made by the attendees before September 19, 2002. See conference website for additional details.

Scholarships for Graduate Students and Young Scientists

The conference has limited funds for partial support of graduate students and young scientists. Letters of nominations should be sent to the Conference Chair no later than August 1, 2002.

The International Advisory Committee:

Joseph H. Hamilton, Chair Juha Äystö
Jon Batchelder

Vanderbilt University
EP-ISOLDE, CERN
UNIRIB/ORAU

Rafael J. Broda Institute of Nuclear Physics, Poland?

Jerry D. Cole Lockheed Martin Idaho Technologies

A. Covello Dipartimento di Scienze Fisiche, Italy

George D. Dracoulis Australian National University

Amand Faessler Universität Tübingen Friedrich Goennenwein Universität Tübingen

W. Greiner Johann Wolfgang von-Goethe Universität

Konstantin A. Gridnev
Robert V. F. Janssens
St. Petersburg University
Argonne National Laboratory

I. Y. Lee Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Yixiao Luo Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

W. C. Ma Mississippi State University Witold Nazarewicz University of Tennessee

Yuri Oganessian Flerov Laboratory of Nuclear Reactions

W. R. PhillipsD. PoenariuUniversity of ManchesterNational Institute of Physics

John O. Rasmussen Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Lee L. Riedinger Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Ernst Roeckl Gesellschaft fur Schwerionenforschung

K. Rykacewski
Aurel Sandulescu
Bradley M. Sherrill
Michael S. Smith
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Institute of Atomic Physics
NSCL, Michigan State University
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Isao Tanihata RIKEN

G. M. Ter-Akopian Flerov Laboratory of Nuclear Reactions

Piet Van Duppen University of Leuven
C. Wagemans University of Ghent
Michael Wiescher University of Notre Dame
Shengjiang Zhu Tsinghua University

Local Organizing Committee:

H. K. Carter UNIRIB, Oak Ridge Associated Universities

J. H. Hamilton Vanderbilt University
A.V. Ramayya Vanderbilt University
E. F. Zganjar Louisiana State University