# Third International Conference on Fission and Properties of Neutron-Rich Nuclei Sanibel Island, Florida November 3-9, 2002

#### First Announcement

The Third International Conference on Fission and Properties of Neutron-Rich Nuclei will be held November 3-9, 2002, Sanibel Island, Florida. Previous conferences were held in 1997 on Sanibel Island and in 1999 at St. Andrews, Scotland. This announcement is a first call by the Advisory Committee to learn of your interest in attending and suggestions for invited talks for the conference. You may contact any member of the Advisory Committee directly or through the Conference Secretary at the address below. The conference will consist of invited papers, contributed papers, and a poster session with all papers being included in published proceedings. The conference is being sponsored by Vanderbilt University, Oak Ridge Associated Universities, UNIRIB, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and the Joint Institute for Heavy Ion Research.

This third conference in this series will emphasize the following areas:

**Fission Modes and Reactions**: Particle induced fission, spontaneous fission, bimodal fission, Coulomb fission, and fusion-fission.

**Fission Processes:** Isotopic and energy distributions, neutron multiplicities, spin distributions, cold fission (cluster radioactivity), ternary fission, and fission isomers.

**Properties of Neutron Rich Nuclei:** Decay properties, masses, nuclear structure, and nuclear astrophysics.

Fragmentation and Accelerated Beams of Neutron Rich Nuclei: Coulomb excitation, transfer reactions, deep inelastic collisions, and future prospects.

The conference expects to have limited funds for scholarships to provide partial support for graduate students and young scientists. Letters and nominations should be sent to the Chair no later than June 1, 2002.

The next announcement will provide additional details on abstract submission, travel, and hotel registration. A registration fee of \$400, before September 1, 2002, will include breakfasts, lunches, banquet, and proceedings. After September 1 registration will be \$450.

### **Venue and Accommodations:**

The conference will be held on Sanibel Island off the southern coast of Florida in November when the weather is excellent (75–80 F) and the Gulf still warm enough for swimming and sea shelling. The conference center, Sundial Beach Resort, is directly on the beach and has many additional sports opportunities including: sail boats, swimming pools, tennis, golf, bicycling, and an exercise room. There is a nature reserve where one can go by canoe, bicycle, or car to observe wildlife and the Florida Everglades are less than an hour away. The Sundial holds activities for children. The accommodations are all one and two bedroom condominiums with kitchens and living areas. The conference fee

will include breakfasts, lunches, breaks, banquet, and proceedings. A conference-hosted excursion will be provided to an outer island.

**Website:** http://www.orau.gov/neutron/fissionconf.html

Additional information can be obtained from:

Carlene Stewart, Conference Secretary Bldg 6008, MS 6374 Oak Ridge National Laboratory Oak Ridge, TN 37831 (865) 576-8761 stewartc@orau.gov

or one of the committee members listed below.

Please distribute this announcement to colleagues who may not have received it. Also, please return the following questionnaire by February 28 by replying to this e-mail or to the conference secretary. We particularly call your attention to suggestions for invited speakers including yourself.

Name:
Address:
E-mail address:
Expect to attend the conference: Yes No Probably
Wish to receive future announcements Yes No
I suggest the following talk/speaker:
I would like to speak on the following topic (a brief abstract will be helpful).

## **International Advisory Committee:**

Joseph H. Hamilton, Chair, j.h.hamilton@vanderbilt.edu
Juha Äystö, juha.aysto@cern.ch
Jon Batchelder, batcheld@mail.phy.ornl.gov
Rafael J. Broda, rafal.broda@ifj.edu.pl
Jerry D. Cole, jdc@inel.gov
A. Covello, covello@na.infn.it
George D. Dracoulis, george.dracoulis@anu.edu.au
Amand Faessler, amand.faessler@uni-tuebingen.de

Friedrich Goennenwein, friedrich.goennenwein@uni-tuebingen.de

Walter Greiner, greiner@th.physik.uni-frankfurt.de

Konstantin A. Gridnev, gridnev@nuclpc1.phys.spbu.ru

Robert V. F. Janssens, janssens@anlphy.phy.anl.gov

I. Y. Lee, <u>iylee@lbl.gov</u>

Yixiao Luo, yluo@sseos.lbl.gov

W. C. Ma, mawc@ra.msstate.edu

Witold Nazarewicz, witek@utk.edu

Yuri Oganessian, oganessian@flnr.jinr.ru

W. R. Phillips, hf@mags.ph.man.ac.uk

D. Poenariu, poenaru@ifin.nipne.ro

John O. Rasmussen, jorasmussen@lbl.gov

Lee L. Riedinger, riedingerl@ornl.gov

Ernst Roeckl, e.roeckl@gsi.de

K. Rykacewski, <u>rykaczew@phy.ornl.gov</u>

Aurel Sandulescu, aursand@aix.acad.ro

Bradley M. Sherrill, sherrill@nscl.msu.edu

Michael S. Smith, msmith@mail.phy.ornl.gov

Isao Tanihata, tanihata@rikaxp.rikjen.go.jp

G. M. Ter-Akopian, gurgen2@suntimpx.jinr.ru

Piet Van Duppen, piet.vanduppen@fys.kuleuven.ac.be

C. Wagemans, wagemans@irm.jrc.be

Michael Wiescher, wiescher. 1@nd.edu

Shengjiang Zhu, zhushj@mail.tsinghua.edu.cn

## **Local Organizing Committee:**

- H. K. Carter, carterk@orau.gov
- J. H. Hamilton, j.h.hamilton@vanderbilt.edu
- A. V. Ramayya, a.v.ramayya@vanderbilt.edu
- E. F. Zganjar <u>zganjar@rouge.phys.lsu.edu</u>