

ROTARY NATIONAL AWARD FOR SPACE ACHIEVEMENT FOUNDATION

Rotary National Award for Space Achievement



Front Row (left to right): Sheila Self, Ann Charles, Jenny Mitchell, Mary Alys Cherry, L. Jean Walker (Secretary), Marianne Dyson

Middle Row (left to right): Floyd Bennett, Frank Perez, Bill Geissler, Bill Taylor (Vice Chairman), Jack Lister, Bob Wren, Jayant Ramakrishnan, Duane Ross

Back Row (left to right): S. John Wilkins III, Gary Johnson, Rodolfo González (Chairman), Marcus Havican, Steven Fredrickson, Richard Jackson, Geoff Atwater (Treasurer)

Not Pictured: Shelley Baccus, Jeffrey Carr, Branelle Cibuzar, Lindsey Cousins, Murray Epstein, Susan Gomez, Dick Gregg III, David Hamblin, Tim Kropp, Kim Nahas

Photo by J. Pamela Photography, Inc.

The Rotary National Award for Space Achievement (RNASA) Foundation exists to recognize the people whose work in the field of space exploration has lasting impact and benefits. Established twenty-two years ago by the Space Center Rotary Club, the Foundation carries out its goal through organizing an annual awards gala.

The top award is the National Space Trophy (NST) being presented to Captain Eugene Cernan this year. Outstanding individuals (see pages 32-33 for previous winners) are first nominated by government, industry, and professional organizations. The winner is then selected by a vote of the Foundation's Board of Advisors (page 34) that includes current and former NASA center directors, presidents of aerospace corporations, space journalists, and previous award recipients. The confidential votes are tabulated by an independent accounting firm.

The Foundation also periodically recognizes individuals or groups with special awards such as the Space Communicator Award presented this year to Dr. Neil deGrasseTyson (see page 8).

To recognize the "unsung heroes" of the space program, Stellar Awards for individual and team achievements are solicited from NASA, the military, and industry leaders in human and unmanned spaceflight programs. The awards are divided into four categories: Early-career, Mid-career, Late-career, and Teams. Nominations (pages 20-31) are reviewed by a distinguished panel who selects the winners based on which accomplishments hold the greatest promise for furthering future successes in space. This year's evaluators were former NASA Associate Administrator for Space Systems

Development, Dr. Arnold Aldrich, and former NASA Flight Directors and NST winners Dr. Christopher C. Kraft, Jr. (1999) and Dr. Glynn S. Lunney (2005).

The RNASA Foundation is a nonprofit organization that depends on corporate sponsorships to create an event that has been called the "Academy Awards of Space." For the past eight years, the event has grown so that the Foundation has been able to donate scholarships for space-related programs, including Purdue, the University of Houston-Clear Lake, the Wings of the Eagle Foundation, Parks College of Engineering at St. Louis University, and the Texas High School Aerospace Scholars (HAS) program.

The Texas HAS students complete on-line lessons and then spend a week at JSC where they are briefed by engineers, scientists, and astronauts; and compete in building rovers, rockets, and landers. HAS plans for 2008 include summer sessions for 360 high-school juniors. One student wrote, "My week at the Johnson Space Center inspired me to definitely become an aerospace engineer and aspire to work as a co-op after I graduate from high school, hopefully to eventually work ... in the area of manned spaceflight." – Cody, HAS 2005, Bandera High School, Bandera.

The Foundation is grateful for the enthusiasm and support it has received from the aerospace industry, educational organizations, NASA, and the Department of Defense. This support assures the continued recognition of outstanding achievements by United States citizens in the area of space exploration, and support of today's students who will become our future space explorers.