

Call for 2009 Parravano Award Nominations



We seek nominations for the **2009 Michigan Catalysis Society Giuseppe Parravano Memorial Award for Excellence in Catalysis Research.** The Award will be presented at the 31st Annual Spring Symposium of the Michigan Catalysis Society in May 2009. The award winner will be invited to present an award address at the Symposium.

The award is given biennially in odd numbered years to an individual from North America to formally recognize outstanding contributions to catalytic science and technology. A committee that is appointed by the officers of the Michigan Catalysis Society will select the recipient of the award. The award consists of a medal and a monetary prize of \$500. The award is sponsored by the Memorial Trust Fund for Professor Giuseppe Parravano and administered by the Michigan Catalysis Society.

An E-mail of intent to nominate should be sent to paul.fanson@tema.toyota.com by December 19, 2008.

Full nomination package must include the following:

- 1. Name, occupational address, phone, fax, and e-mail of the nominator
- 2. Name, occupational address, phone, fax, and e-mail of the nominee
- 3. Nominee's curriculum vitae and bibliography of significant publications
- 4. A proposed citation limit to 1 or 2 sentences
- 5. A narrative statement describing the Nominee's award qualifications
- 6. One confidential letter of support requested by the nominator

Letters of nomination and supporting documentation must be received by January 16, 2009. It should be sent (electronic communication preferred) to:

Paul Fanson Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing, North America 1555 Woodridge Ann Arbor, MI 48105 Phone: 734-995-5138

Fax: 734-995-0002

paul.fanson@tema.toyota.com

It is the intent of the Michigan Catalysis Society to notify the Award winner by February 13, 2009.



Call for 2009 Parravano Award Nominations



Past Award Recipients of the Michigan Catalysis Society Giuseppe Parravano Memorial Award for Excellence in Catalysis Research, an award given biennially in odd-numbered years to an individual from North America to recognize outstanding contributions to catalytic science and technology:

1985	W. Nicholas Delgass - School of Chemical Engineering, Purdue University
1987	Lanny D. Schmidt – Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science, University of Minnesota
1989	W. Henry Weinberg – Division of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology
1991	Israel Wachs - Zettlemoyer Center for Surface Studies, Lehigh University
1993	J. Michael White - Department of Chemistry, The University of Texas
1995	Wolfgang M.H. Sachtler - Department of Chemistry, Northwestern University
1997	Raymond J. Gorte – Department of Chemical Engineering, The University of Pennsylvania
1999	James A. Dumesic – Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Wisconsin
2001	D. Wayne Goodman - Department of Chemistry, Texas A&M University
2003	Bruno Notari - Department of Chemical Engineering, Northeastern University
2005	Bruce C. Gates - Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science, University of California - Davis
2007	Alexis T. Bell – Department of Chemical Engineering, University of California – Berkeley



Call for 2009 Parravano Award Nominations



Past Award Recipients of the **Michigan Catalysis Society Parravano Award for Excellence in Catalysis Research and Development**, an award given biennially in even-numbered years to formally recognize outstanding contributions to catalytic science and technology by researchers in the greater Michigan area:

1983	Mordecai Shelef - Ford Motor Company
1984	Alan Brenner - Wayne State University
1986	Klaus Otto - Ford Motor Company
1988	Craig Murchison - The Dow Chemical Company
1990	John L. Gland - The University of Michigan
1992	Peter R. Norton - University of Western Ontario
1994	Johannes W. Schwank - The University of Michigan
1996	Robert W. McCabe - Ford Motor Company
1998	Galen B. Fisher - General Motors Corporation
2000	Robert A. Stowe - Bobcat Technologies, Ltd.
2002	Thomas J. Pinnavaia - Michigan State University
2004	Dennis A. Hucul – The Dow Chemical Company
2006	Levi T. Thompson - The University of Michigan
2008	George W. Graham - Ford Motor Company