Award-Vinning Technology

1999 Gordon Bell Awards

At the Supercomputing '99 Conference, the Gordon Bell Award for best performance was presented to a team of researchers from Livermore, the University of Minnesota, and IBM. Laboratory recipients recognized for their application of high-performance computers to scientific and engineering problems included Bill Dannevik, Ron Cohen, Art Mirin, Bruce Curtis, Andris Dimits, Mark Duchaineau, Don Eliason, and Dan Schikore.

Livermore (represented by David Keyes) also shared a 1999 Gordon Bell Award "special" prize with Old Dominion University and NASA for a simulation that obtained an unprecedented level of performance on an unstructured grid application.

1999 R&D 100 Awards

Bob Stoddard and Ted Wieskamp for the Optical Modulator-Switch.

Muriel Ishikawa, Ronald Lougheed, Kenton Moody, Winifred Parker, Tzu-Fang Wang, and Lowell Wood for the Gamma Watermark.

Isaac Bass, Jim Chang, Curt Cochran, Ernest Dragon, Christopher Ebbers, and the U.S. Enrichment Corporation for the Diode-Pumped Solid-State Green Laser. Craig Brooksby, George Caporaso, Roy Hanks, Steve Hawkins, Brad Hickman, Hugh Kirbie, Bryan Lee, Craig Ollis, Rob Saethre, and Bechtel for the Advanced Radiographic Machine modulator.

Jim Folta, Fred Grabner, Gary Heaton, Gary Howe, Richard Levesque, Claude Montcalm, Mark A. Schmidt, Eberhard Spiller, Stephen Vernon, Christopher Walton, Marco Wedowski, and George Wells for the Precision Deposition System.

Christine Hartmann Siantar, Paul Bergstrom, Bill Chandler, Lila Chase, Larry Cox, Tom Daly, Don Fujino, Dewey Garrett, Brian Guidry, Steve Hornstein, Ron House, Don Jong, Dave Knapp, Sarita May, Ed Moses, Ralph Patterson, Clark Powell, Jim Rathkopf, Alexis Schach von Wittenau, and Rosemary Walling for the PEREGRINE radiation dose calculation system.

Many Significant Honors and Awards in 1999

Michael Key, Stephen Libby, Kennedy Reed, and Peter Young were named fellows of the American Physical Society.

Jeff Wadsworth was named a fellow of the Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society. Charles Landram was named a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Michael MacCracken was named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for leadership in modeling climate and air quality and coordinating international research activities.

Richard Post received the Popular Mechanics Design and Engineering Award for 2000 for his invention of a new type of bearing—a passive magnet bearing—which may last longer than ball bearings or other magnetic alternatives.

Scientists from Livermore and a Russian laboratory were honored by *Chemical & Engineering News* and *Popular Science* for their joint discovery of a new element, element 114, which lasted 30 seconds before breaking down into lighter elements.

The 1999 Hammer Award was presented to Livermore's Hazardous Materials Packaging and Transportation Safety Assurance Office (represented by Ron Natali), as part of a group of DOE contractors, the Suppliers Quality Information Group, that share supplier assessment information to save money. This annual award is given by Vice President Al Gore's National Partnership for Reinventing Government.

Jim Jackson received the DOE Don Ross Industrial Hygiene Award in recognition of exceptional service and

contributions to industrial hygiene programs.

Fusion Power Associates Leadership Award went to Grant Logan for his contributions in accelerating the development of fusion.

Robin Newmark and
Roger Aines received the
Environmental Protection
Agency's Outstanding
Remediation Technology
Award, with collaborators at
the University of California at
Berkeley and Southern
California Edison, for work in
dynamic underground
stripping and hydrous
pyrolysis/oxidation.

David Cooper was reappointed by President Clinton to the President's Information Technology Advisory Committee.

Charles A. McDonald Jr.
was awarded the U.S.
Strategic Command's
Strategic Advisory Group
Distinguished Public Service
Award for "exceptionally
superior civilian public service"
in monitoring the safety and
reliability of the nation's
nuclear stockpile.

The board of directors of the National Registry of Radiation Protection Technology bestowed its emeritus status on Paula Trinoskey.

The Federal Laboratory
Consortium Award for
Excellence in Technology
Transfer was given to
Abraham Lee, Duncan
Maitland, Luiz Da Silva, Dean
Hadley, Christopher Lee, Pat
Fitch, Dan Schumann, and
Jim Sommercorn. The award
was given to the laseractivated microgripper that
releases a coil inside a
cerebral aneurysm and greatly
reduces the risk of a
hemorrhagic stroke.

Darleane Hoffman, formerly head of Livermore's Seaborg Institute, received the 1999 Priestly Medal of the American Chemical Society for her work in the chemical properties of heavy elements.

Steve Gray received the Defense Intelligence Agency's Director's Award for Exceptional Leadership in setting up on a classified, secure network a Web site that combines up-to-date information on foreign proliferation with computational tools and models.

Steve Haan was named one of three 1999 recipients of the Edward Teller Award by the American Nuclear Society for his work in the design of inertial confinement fusion targets.

Jack Campbell received the 1999 Otto Shott Research Award of the European Society of Glass.

George Moorehead was named Livermore Chamber of Commerce's Helen Moody Volunteer of the Year.