# THIRD CONGRESS

# MARCH 4, 1793, TO MARCH 3, 1795

FIRST SESSION—December 2, 1793, to June 9, 1794 SECOND SESSION—November 3, 1794, to March 3, 1795 SPECIAL SESSION OF THE SENATE—March 4, 1793, for one day only

VICE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES—JOHN ADAMS, of Massachusetts PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE-RALPH IZARD, 1 of South Carolina; HENRY TAZEWELL, 2 of Virginia SECRETARY OF THE SENATE-SAMUEL A. OTIS, of Massachusetts DOORKEEPER OF THE SENATE-JAMES MATHERS, of New York

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES-FREDERICK A. C. MUHLENBERG,<sup>3</sup> of Pennsylvania CLERK OF THE HOUSE—JOHN BECKLEY,<sup>4</sup> of Virginia SERGEANT AT ARMS OF THE HOUSE-JOSEPH WHEATON, of Rhode Island DOORKEEPER OF THE HOUSE-GIFFORD DALLEY

# CONNECTICUT

SENATORS Oliver Ellsworth Roger Sherman<sup>5</sup> Stephen M. Mitchell<sup>6</sup> REPRESENTATIVES AT LARGE Joshua Coit James Hillhouse Amasa Learned Zephaniah Swift Uriah Tracy Jonathan Trumbull Jeremiah Wadsworth

## **DELAWARE**

SENATORS George Read<sup>7</sup> Henry Latimer<sup>8</sup> John Vining REPRESENTATIVES John Patten<sup>9</sup> Henry Latimer<sup>10</sup>

# **GEORGIA**

SENATORS

James Gunn

James Jackson REPRESENTATIVES AT LARGE Abraham Baldwin Thomas P. Carnes

# **KENTUCKY**

SENATORS John Edwards John Brown REPRESENTATIVES **Christopher Greenup** Alexander D. Orr

#### MARYLAND SENATORS

John Henry **Richard Potts** REPRESENTATIVES Gabriel Christie George Dent John F. Mercer<sup>11</sup> Gabriel Duvall<sup>12</sup> William Vans Murrav Uriah Forrest 13 Benjamin Edwards<sup>14</sup>

William Hindman Samuel Smith Thomas Sprigg

# MASSACHUSETTS

SENATORS

Caleb Strong George Cabot

#### REPRESENTATIVES

Fisher Ames Shearjashub Bourne David Cobb Peleg Coffin, Jr. Henry Dearborn Samuel Dexter **Dwight Foster** Benjamin Goodhue Samuel Holten William Lyman Theodore Sedgwick George Thacher Peleg Wadsworth Artemas Ward

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Elected May 31, 1794. Samuel Livermore was elected February 20, 1795, but declined. <sup>2</sup>Elected February 20, 1795. <sup>3</sup>Elected December 2, 1793. <sup>4</sup>Reelected December 2, 1793.

 <sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Died July 23, 1793.
<sup>6</sup> Elected to fill vacancy caused by death of Roger Sherman, and took his seat December 2, 1793.
<sup>7</sup> Resigned September 18, 1793.

<sup>\*</sup>Elected to fill vacancy caused by resignation of George Read, and took his seat February 28, 1795. Kensey Johns was appointed on March 19, 1794, to fill the vacancy and his credentials were presented March 24, 1794, but he was not permitted to qualify; March 28, 1794, the Senate declared he was not entitled to the seat; vacancy in this class from September 18, 1793, to February 7, 1795.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>9</sup>Served until February 14, 1794; succeeded by Henry Latimer, who contested his election.

 <sup>&</sup>lt;sup>10</sup> Successfully contested the election of John Patten, and took his seat February 14, 1794; resigned February 7, 1795, having been elected Senator.
<sup>11</sup> Resigned April 13, 1794.
<sup>12</sup> Elected to fill vacancy caused by resignation of John F. Mercer, and took his seat November 11, 1794.
<sup>13</sup> Resigned November 8, 1794.
<sup>14</sup> Elected to fill vacancy caused by resignation of Uriah Forrest, and took his seat January 2, 1795.

#### **NEW HAMPSHIRE**

SENATORS

John Langdon Samuel Livermore REPRESENTATIVES AT LARGE Nicholas Gilman John S. Sherburne Jeremiah Smith Paine Wingate

# **NEW JERSEY**

SENATORS John Rutherfurd Frederick Frelinghuysen REPRESENTATIVES AT LARGE John Beatty Elias Boudinot Lambert Cadwallader Abraham Clark 15 Aaron Kitchell<sup>16</sup> Jonathan Davton

# **NEW YORK**

SENATORS

Rufus King Aaron Burr REPRESENTATIVES Theodorus Bailey Peter Van Gaasbeck Ezekiel Gilbert James Gordon Henry Glen Silas Talbot Thomas Tredwell John E. Van Alen<sup>17</sup> Philip Van Cortlandt John Watts

# NORTH CAROLINA

SENATORS **Benjamin Hawkins** Alexander Martin REPRESENTATIVES Thomas Blount

William Johnston Dawson James Gillespie William Barry Grove Matthew Locke Nathaniel Macon Joseph McDowell (P. G.) Alexander Mebane **Benjamin Williams** Joseph Winston

#### PENNSYLVANIA SENATORS

**Robert Morris** Albert Gallatin<sup>18</sup> James Ross 19 REPRESENTATIVES AT LARGE James Armstrong William Findley **Thomas Fitzsimons** Andrew Gregg Thomas Hartley **Daniel Hiester** William Irvine John Wilkes Kittera William Montgomery Frederick A. C. Muhlenberg John Peter G. Muhlenberg Thomas Scott John Smilie

# **RHODE ISLAND**

SENATORS

Theodore Foster William Bradford REPRESENTATIVES AT LARGE Benjamin Bourne Francis Malbone

## SOUTH CAROLINA

SENATORS **Pierce Butler** Ralph Izard REPRESENTATIVES Lemuel Benton Alexander Gillon<sup>20</sup> Robert Goodloe Harper<sup>21</sup> John Hunter

Andrew Pickens William L. Smith **Richard Winn** 

# VERMONT

SENATORS

Moses Robinson Stephen R. Bradley

REPRESENTATIVES Nathaniel Niles Israel Smith

## VIRGINIA

SENATORS James Monroe<sup>22</sup> Stevens T. Mason<sup>23</sup> John Taylor<sup>24</sup> Henry Tazewell<sup>25</sup>

REPRESENTATIVES

Isaac Coles Thomas Claiborne William B. Giles Samuel Griffin George Hancock Carter B. Harrison John Heath Richard Bland Lee James Madison Andrew Moore Joseph Neville Anthony New John Nicholas John Page Josiah Parker Francis Preston<sup>26</sup> **Robert Rutherford** Abraham B. Venable Francis Walker

### **TERRITORY SOUTH OF THE RIVER OHIO 27**

DELEGATE

James White 28

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>15</sup>Died September 15, 1794.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>16</sup> Elected to fill vacancy caused by death of Abraham Clark, and took his seat January 29, 1795. <sup>17</sup> Election unsuccessfully contested by Henry K. Van

Rensselaer. Rensselaer. <sup>18</sup> Credentials presented in preceding Congress; took his seat December 2, 1793, and served until February 28, 1794, when the election was declared void, "he not having been a citizen of the United States the term of years required by the Constitution."

 <sup>&</sup>lt;sup>19</sup> Elected to fill vacancy caused by the Senate declaring the election of Albert Gallatin void, and took his seat April 24, 1794.
<sup>20</sup> Died October 6, 1794.
<sup>21</sup> Elected to fill vacancy caused by death of Alexander Gillon, and took his seat February 9, 1795.
<sup>22</sup> Resigned, effective May 27, 1794, having been appointed minister plenipotentiary to France.
<sup>23</sup> Elected to fill vacancy caused by the resignation of James Monroe, but did not take his seat until June 8, 1795, in the succeeding Congress.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>24</sup>Resigned May 11, 1794. <sup>25</sup>Elected to fill vacancy caused by resignation of John Taylor, and took his seat December 29, 1794. <sup>26</sup>Election unsuccessfully contested by Abraham Trigg. <sup>27</sup>Created a district for the purposes of temporary gov-ernment by act approved May 26, 1790, from territory ceded to the United States by the State of North Carolina and granted a Delegate in Congress. <sup>28</sup>Took his seat November 18, 1794.