Networking for zero waste

Article image - Networking for zero waste At the ZWN Sydney launch in November.

Across Sydney, the Zero Waste Network is supporting re-use, repair and recycling social enterprises.

In November, the Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (SSROC), in collaboration with the Community Recycling Network Australia (CRNA), launched the Zero Waste Network Sydney (ZWN) to a room of passionate ‘wasties’ – people who work in the waste and resource recovery sector.

The network aims to support and grow the community of reuse, repair and recycling social enterprises across greater Sydney.

The launch is the culmination of 12 months of planning and stakeholder engagement.

SSROC General Manager Namoi Dougall welcomed the launch of the network.

“The social enterprise and not-for-profit community reuse and recycling sector do important work in our communities turning unwanted items into valuable goods, and providing training and education,” she said.

Convenor of the Zero Waste Network Sydney Matthew Allen said collaboration on waste management is crucial.

“The solutions to waste management problems are out there already, the question is how can we work together to scale up those amazing solutions,” he said.

“Now is the time when we are going to see that happening and the way that we do it is by collaboration, we can’t do it alone.

“We need strong collaborations between the social enterprise sector, local governments and forward-thinking businesses and that that is what the Zero Waste Network Sydney is here to do.”

The project is a NSW EPA Waste Less Recycle More initiative, funded by the waste levy.

SSROC has projected that the southern Sydney region will grow by 28 per cent to 2.18 million by 2036 with a 27 per cent increase of waste generation projected to over 880,000 tonnes per annum – or 17 Sydney Harbour Bridges of waste in 2036.

Member councils of the SSROC are Bayside, Burwood, Canada Bay, Canterbury Bankstown, Georges River, Inner West, Randwick, Sutherland Shire, Sydney, Waverley and Woollahra.